Dr. Christos S. Zerefos was born in Cairo, Egypt and graduated in Physics from the University of Athens and received an MSc in Meteorology and a Ph.D. in Physics-Meteorology, from the University of Athens. He served as a Post Doctoral researcher, National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) and other Research Institutions in Greece and abroad, as a Professor of Atmospheric Physics at the Universities of Thessaloniki and Athens, and as a visiting Professor at the Universities of Boston, Minnesota (USA) and Oslo (Norway).

He is a member of the Academy of Athens, the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters, the Academia Europaea, the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, the International Academy of Astronautics and a Fellow of the Institute of Physics (UK) and Life Member of the American Geophysical Union.

He has received various awards among which the Global Ozone Award from the United Nations Environment Programme (1997), the Award of the European Physical Society and the Balkan Physical Union (2006), and the Honourable Mentions from the United Nations Environmental Program in 1995 and in 1998 and the Award Certificate and Letter from UNEP and from IPCC (2008) for his substantial contribution to the reports of IPCC, which shared the Nobel Peace Prize (1997).

His published work in peer reviewed scientific journals has been acknowledged from the scientific community with thousands of citations. Holder of the UNESCO Chair for Natural Disasters, President elect of the International Ozone Commission (IO3C) of IAMAS of ICSU, re-elected in 2012, President elect of the IUGG National Committee for Greece, former President of the National Observatory of Athens and other national and international fora.

Copyright © 2015 Maria Tsakos Foundation